People | Interior Architecture


Travis Hicks, Director of the Main Street Fellows Program published his second book, Community-Engaged Interior Design, with Routledge/Taylor & Francis in September 2023.

Dr. Amanda Gale received the Interior Design Council’s 2023 Award of Excellence for Best in Category: Scholarship of Design and Research, “Students’ Perceptions of Wellbeing in Campus Buildings: A study of university classrooms and lounges”

Derek Toomes installed his exhibition Lost + Found at Alexander/Heath Contemporary. The exhibition is open March 3 – March 31, 2023.

Dr. Asha Kutty, in connection with Dr. Regis Kopper from the Department of Computer Science, and Dr. Deborah Barnes, Research Associate with The International Civil Rights Center & Museum, were awarded a grant for their project that will raise social justice awareness through Interior Design and VR Walkthroughs. (more)

Dr. Asha Kutty, in partnership with Dr. Kimber Thomas has been accepted to participate in the prestigious 2022-2023 Sawyer Seminar at the University of Virginia on the topic of “Reimagining the American Landscape: Race and the Future of Public History.”

Welcome to Kate Horton (lecturer) and Kista Mansell (lecturer, Historic Preservation Certificate Advisor) who were recently hired as lecturers in the Department of Interior Architecture.

Congratulations to Stephen Skorski, who, among other collaborators from the UNCG School of Music, received the “Best Creative Scholarship” Award for “Manifestations/blurred edges between now and then” at the Fall 2021 Interior Design Educators Council (IDEC) Fall Symposium.

Dr. Amanda Gale is a board member for the Journal of Interior Design as of May 1st, 2021.

Congratulations to Dr. Amanda Gale, who got tenure as an associate professor on August

Welcome to Cameron John (lecturer), who was recently hired as a lecturer in the Department of Interior Architecture.

Welcome to Derek Toomes (Assistant Professor) and Matthew Jones (Academic Professional), who were recently hired to full-time positions in the Department of Interior Architecture.

 Travis Hicks is the recipient of the 2020 IDEC Community Service Award.

Jo Leimenstoll is the recipient of the UNCG Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award for 2019-2020 and Director of the UNCG Main Street Fellows Program from its inception in 2016 through April 2020.

Dr. Amanda Gale and Dr. Anna Marshall-Baker received the 2020 Award of Excellence, Best Design Research Presentation, “Multidisciplinary Views Regarding Interior Design Features That Promote Student Wellbeing,” Interior Design Educators Council.

Stephen Skorski Recently completed two international solo art exhibitions at the Ye Gallery in Gumi, South Korea, the Anhui Jianzhu University Gallery in Hefei, China.

World Design Rankings awarded Stoel Burrowes the prestigious A’ Design Award for his rocking chair design, Letter Back Rocker. 

In partnership with History Department professor Torren Gatson, Dr. Asha Kutty received a College of Arts and Science Research Award for their project: “The African American Porch, Exploring Experience, Meaning, and Agency in Wilson, North Carolina.”

Dr. Lucinda Havenhand published her book Mid-Century Modern Interiors: The Ideas that Shaped Interior Design in America (Bloomsbury Publishing).